Master of Science [M.S] (Industrial-Organizational Psychology)
Field of Study:
₹22.6 L/Yr
St. Mary’s University Master of Science in Industrial/Organizational Psychology is a two-year, 40-semester-hour, in-person degree in San Antonio, Texas for the Fall 2027 intake. Applicants need a bachelor’s degree and 3.0 grade point average (GPA) on 4.0, approximately 75% to 80% or 7.5 to 8.0 on 10. Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished; 2026-27 tuition was US$48,040 (INR 45.93 Lakhs), calculated from the published per-credit rate as a prior-cycle reference.
Built on the scientist-practitioner model, the curriculum combines advanced statistics, psychometrics, personnel psychology, assessment centres and a 225-hour practicum. Applied projects, thesis or non-thesis routes and an alumni mentor suit applicants targeting research-backed talent, analytics or organisational development work. Its quantitative core and variable practicum placement mean applicants should prepare for statistics and confirm placement planning with the programme director.
- The STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) designation may support up to three years of qualifying post-completion work authorization for international graduates.
- The degree plan distributes 40 credits across first-year fall, spring and summer study plus second-year fall and spring study.
- Three practicum choices cover talent management, research and consulting or data analytics, allowing a career direction before enrollment.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the Fall 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: Expected 01 May 2027.
The current programme requires a Fall start and the graduate page publishes a recurring May 1 priority date without naming the 2027 cycle, so verify the portal timestamp before submitting.
Also Check: St. Mary’s University graduate admission
St. Mary’s University I/O Psychology Fees and Living Costs 2027
Target-cycle tuition for Fall 2027 is unpublished, so the latest official rate is a prior-cycle reference rather than a confirmed fee.
The 2026-27 schedule lists graduate tuition at US$1,201 per credit hour (INR 1.15 Lakhs) for 40 required credit hours. Tuition and fees are charged by semester.
2026-27 prior-cycle reference: The table uses the university’s current fee schedule and cost-of-attendance figures, with the 40-credit amount calculated from the published rate.
| Fee item | Basis | Amount (USD) | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate tuition | Per credit hour, 2026-27 | US$1,201 | INR 1.15 Lakhs |
| 40-credit tuition illustration | Calculated: 40 credit hours × published rate | US$48,040 | INR 45.93 Lakhs |
| Academic Assessment Fee | Per semester | US$50 | INR 4,781 |
| Student Services Fee | Greater than 8 hours, per semester | US$468 | INR 44,746 |
| Information Services Fee | Greater than 8 hours, per semester | US$209 | INR 19,983 |
| 2026-27 graduate cost of attendance (COA) tuition | 9 hours per term, annual estimate | US$21,618 | INR 20.67 Lakhs |
| 2026-27 graduate cost of attendance (COA) fees | Annual estimate | US$1,590 | INR 1.52 Lakhs |
Source: St. Mary’s University 2026-27 tuition schedule and graduate cost-of-attendance estimate.
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 95.6109 as of 17 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
At the published rate, 40 credit hours produce a calculated US$48,040 (INR 45.93 Lakhs) tuition illustration. Future-year rates may change because the course plan spans two academic years.
The annual cost-of-attendance page lists US$21,618 (INR 20.67 Lakhs) tuition and US$1,590 (INR 1.52 Lakhs) fees for 2026-27. Two semesters of listed recurring fees total US$1,454 (INR 1.39 Lakhs), so retain this official difference.
- Use the calculated prior-cycle tuition only to frame borrowing, because it is not a Fall 2027 quote.
- Ask the programme director whether I/O Psychology course fees apply, because the public schedule does not publish a programme-specific total.
- Budget by semester because the university charges tuition and fees each term rather than annually.
Cost of Living in San Antonio for I/O Psychology Students
The official 2026-27 graduate estimate separates living categories from tuition, so the table below shows annual values and monthly figures calculated by dividing each annual amount by 12.
| Expense | Monthly (USD, calculated) | Monthly (INR, calculated) | Annual (USD, official) | Annual (INR, calculated) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Housing | US$1,041.00 | INR 99,531 | US$12,492 | INR 11.94 Lakhs |
| Food | US$439.83 | INR 42,053 | US$5,278 | INR 5.05 Lakhs |
| Books | US$108.33 | INR 10,358 | US$1,300 | INR 1.24 Lakhs |
| Personal | US$295.00 | INR 28,205 | US$3,540 | INR 3.38 Lakhs |
| Transportation | US$214.00 | INR 20,461 | US$2,568 | INR 2.46 Lakhs |
| Loan fees | US$18.00 | INR 1,721 | US$216 | INR 20,652 |
| Living categories total | US$2,116.17 | INR 2.02 Lakhs | US$25,394 | INR 24.28 Lakhs |
Source: St. Mary’s University 2026-27 graduate cost-of-attendance estimate; monthly columns are calculated from annual values.
Official living categories total US$25,394 (INR 24.28 Lakhs) annually. The full 2026-27 graduate cost of attendance is US$48,602 (INR 46.47 Lakhs) including tuition and fees.
Calculated prior-cycle planning illustration: 40-credit tuition is US$48,040 (INR 45.93 Lakhs). Two years of living categories add US$50,788 (INR 48.56 Lakhs), producing US$98,828 (INR 94.49 Lakhs) before travel and future fee changes.
Also Check: USA study cost planning
Target-cycle fee status
Fall 2027 tuition remains unpublished, so keep the INR 94.49 Lakhs prior-cycle planning illustration provisional and verify the target fee on the official fee page before borrowing.
ROI reality: St. Mary’s current fee schedule supports a prior-cycle planning model, but its annual cost table and recurring fee rows differ. Confirm Fall 2027 tuition and course fees before fixing loan limits.
St. Mary’s University I/O Psychology Admission 2027
Admission is Fall-only, and the current catalog requires a bachelor’s degree plus four prerequisite subjects totalling 12 credit hours.
Applicants also need a programme-specific Graduate Record Examination (GRE) result or waiver, the required GPA route and two references, while international applicants need a course-by-course credential evaluation.
Academic Eligibility and Prerequisites
The strongest fit is a psychology, business or management graduate who can document statistics, research methods and an upper-level subject.
Final prerequisite grades must be C or better, and the department accepts either the standard GPA route or stronger performance across the last 60 undergraduate hours.
| Requirement | Official requirement | Indian applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor’s degree | Bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution | Prepare the degree certificate and complete transcripts showing the awarding institution. |
| Prerequisite subjects | 12 credit hours: General Psychology; Introductory Statistics in a relevant field; Research Methods in a relevant field or Experimental Psychology; and an upper-level Psychology, Business or Management course. | Map each Indian subject to the listed area and ask the department to confirm any gap before applying. |
| GPA route | 3.0 cumulative and psychology undergraduate GPA on a 4.0 scale (approximately 75% to 80%, or CGPA 7.5 to 8.0 on 10 for Indian planning), or 3.2 for the last 60 hours (approximately 80% to 85%, or CGPA 8.0 to 8.5 on 10). | Use these as approximate planning ranges because the university does not publish a country-specific Indian conversion. |
| GRE | Combined GRE 294, with at least 146 verbal and 140 quantitative; a compelling waiver letter may be considered. | Send the score or explain how academic and quantitative ability is already demonstrated in the waiver letter. |
| Application file | Personal statement, résumé or curriculum vitae, complete official transcript and two academic or professional references with contact details. | Ask referees early because the reference list must include affiliation, title, email and current phone number. |
| International credentials | Course-by-course evaluation and official translation through a NACES (National Association of Credential Evaluation Services) member agency; World Education Services (WES) is listed among acceptable agencies. | Order the evaluation before submission and ensure the agency sends it directly to St. Mary’s. |
The 3.0 route is not the only path because the department also accepts 3.2 across the last 60 undergraduate hours, which can help applicants with stronger recent performance.
The department’s GRE rule differs from the university’s general optional-test statement. Because I/O Psychology is specifically noted, prepare the score or waiver letter.
English Language Proficiency
St. Mary’s graduate page lists IELTS (International English Language Testing System) 6.0, TOEFL 80 and Duolingo English Test 115 for graduate programmes, except for the MBA.
The current page does not publish a post-21 January 2026 TOEFL 1.0 to 6.0 conversion, so use the university’s wording and verify the portal.
| English test | Published minimum | Indian applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS | 6.0 overall | No component minimum is stated on the current graduate page, so confirm whether the department expects bands. |
| TOEFL | “Minimum of 80 on TOEFL for all graduate programs” | The source does not name a post-2026 reporting scale, so do not self-convert a revised result. |
| Duolingo English Test | 115 | Confirm score validity and portal acceptance when submitting the Fall 2027 file. |
- An English-medium Indian degree is not listed as an automatic waiver on the current graduate page, so request written confirmation before omitting a test.
- Book the test early enough to send the score with the transcript evaluation because the international process treats English evidence as a separate submission step.
- Do not self-convert a revised TOEFL result because the university publishes a score minimum without naming the current reporting scale.
The current graduate admission requirements page should be rechecked before submission because programme rules and test policies can change.
Read More: St. Mary’s University graduate programmes
Tip for Indian students: The programme is accessible only after a prerequisite audit, GRE score or waiver and credential evaluation are aligned. Resolve those three items before paying for testing or submitting the Fall 2027 file.
St. Mary’s University I/O Psychology Application 2027
The Fall 2027 international application follows a Fall-only cycle, with an expected priority deadline of 01 May 2027 and expected final deadline of 01 August 2027.
The catalog says applications continue after the priority date until openings are filled, but no decision date or clock time is published; the portal timestamp controls.
International Deadlines and Application Stages
The programme has no Spring or Summer admission, so Indian applicants should treat Fall 2027 as the only route.
Because the dates are recurring catalog dates rather than a named 2027 schedule, both entries are marked Expected and must be verified in the portal.
| Stage | International deadline | Decision timing | Indian applicant action |
|---|---|---|---|
| Priority review | Expected 01 May 2027 | No fixed date published; review begins when the file is complete | Submit the transcript evaluation, test evidence and references by this date. |
| Post-priority review | After 01 May 2027 while openings remain | No fixed date published | Use this only if the portal confirms that places remain and the visa timeline is workable. |
| Final programme deadline | Expected 01 August 2027 | No fixed date published; openings may fill earlier | Do not rely on the final date if credential evaluation or visa processing is still pending. |
The university does not publish a fixed clock time or timezone, so submit before the portal’s displayed cutoff and retain the confirmation.
Application Components
St. Mary’s describes the graduate application as free, but the I/O Psychology file still requires several programme-specific documents.
International applicants should assemble the academic evaluation and English evidence first because both can delay a complete-file review.
| Component | Published requirement | Indian applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| Graduate application | Online graduate application; the international page describes the application as free. | Select Graduate Admission and the Fall term, then save the submission confirmation. |
| Credential evaluation | Course-by-course evaluation and official translation from an acceptable agency for non-U.S. college records. | Order the evaluation early and request direct electronic delivery to St. Mary’s. |
| GRE evidence | Official GRE score or a compelling waiver letter under the programme-specific rule. | Choose the score route only after checking whether your academic record supports a waiver. |
| Personal statement | Personal statement listed among the supplementary items. | Connect statistics, research methods and workplace interests to the I/O curriculum. |
| Résumé and references | Résumé or curriculum vitae (CV), plus two academic or professional references with contact details. | Confirm each referee’s affiliation, title, email and current phone number before submission. |
| English evidence | IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 80 or Duolingo English Test 115 under the graduate requirement. | Send the score report with the application and do not assume an India-specific waiver. |
- Use 01 May 2027 as the working priority date because earlier review preserves time for an evaluation request or GRE waiver response.
- Complete the prerequisite mapping before submitting because missing one of the four subject areas can change application readiness.
- Keep the final 01 August 2027 date as a last-resort deadline because the catalogue says openings may fill earlier.
- Save the portal receipt and confirm the displayed timezone because the university publishes no clock-time cutoff.
Read More: USA application process and timeline
Application tip: Submit a complete Fall 2027 file by the expected 01 May priority date. The course accepts only Fall entrants and may fill before the expected 01 August final date.
St. Mary’s University I/O Psychology Scholarships 2027
St. Mary’s does not publish a target-cycle graduate scholarship amount or deadline for this programme.
Current funding information identifies the Global Scholars Program for international students and directs graduate applicants to the Office of Graduate Admission or Program Director.
Verified Funding Routes
Only one named award and two institutional routes were verifiable for an international graduate applicant, so none should be deducted from the prior-cycle budget until eligibility is confirmed.
Global Scholars is current published rather than target-cycle because its page gives annual conditions but no Fall 2027 deadline.
| Funding route | Published eligibility or process | Value | Timing and applicant action |
|---|---|---|---|
| Global Scholars Program | For international students demonstrating academic excellence and commitment to cultural understanding; requirements apply each semester and students reapply annually. | US$2,000 annually INR 1.04 Lakhs | Target deadline and graduate eligibility are not stated; ask Graduate Admission whether the Fall 2027 I/O cohort qualifies. |
| Graduate assistantships and fellowships | Some graduate programmes may offer tuition assistance and stipends for housing or research. | Amount is programme-specific and not published. | Ask the Program Director after admission whether an I/O Psychology position exists and what renewal conditions apply. |
| Office of Student Research and Inquiry (OSRI) support | Institutional programmes support undergraduate and graduate fellowships, projects and research travel. | Amount and deadline are not stated. | Discuss a thesis or research proposal with the department before requesting support. |
Because the Global Scholars award requires semester conditions and annual reapplication, treat US$2,000 (INR 1.04 Lakhs) as conditional support rather than guaranteed programme funding.
Assistantships and research support may reduce cost or fund a project, but the public pages give no award mechanics, so request written terms before relying on them.
- Ask Graduate Admission whether Global Scholars includes graduate I/O Psychology students because the public page does not state the degree-level boundary.
- Use the thesis route to frame an OSRI request because the office specifically supports research fellowships, projects and travel.
- Keep the full prior-cycle cost model available until an award letter states the amount, duration and renewal condition.
Funding status
The only published international award is not labelled for Fall 2027 or this graduate course, so confirm eligibility and retain a gross-cost funding plan before accepting an offer.
Scholarship reality: Funding is possible through Global Scholars, assistantships or research support, but no target-cycle graduate award is confirmed. Request the programme director’s written funding position before reducing the INR 94.49 Lakhs planning illustration.
St. Mary’s University I/O Psychology Salary 2027
Professional return on investment (ROI) starts with cost: Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished. The 2026-27 rate gives a prior-cycle tuition illustration of US$48,040 (INR 45.93 Lakhs) before living costs.
- The calculated two-year prior-cycle planning illustration is US$98,828 (INR 94.49 Lakhs), so secure written funding terms before accepting substantial borrowing.
- The required 225 project and internship hours provide applied experience, but placement factors vary, so ask the programme director how students obtain and document placements.
- No course-specific salary, offer rate or placement report is published, so request recent I/O Psychology outcomes before treating a wage benchmark as repayment evidence.
- The university-cited median is US$108,373 (INR 1.04 Crore), but it is neither a graduate outcome nor a forecast.
- The STEM designation and potential three-year Optional Practical Training (OPT) window add work-authorisation flexibility, so verify that prospective roles satisfy federal requirements.
Salary and Placement Evidence
St. Mary’s does not publish a course-cohort salary or placement rate for Industrial/Organizational Psychology, so the closest official evidence is school-level rather than programme-specific.
The May 2022 university outcomes report records 80% employed in positions aligned with career goals across its reported population, which cannot establish the probability of an I/O Psychology offer.
| Evidence scope | Cohort or measure | Published outcome | Applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| Course-cohort | Industrial/Organizational Psychology | No course salary, offer rate or placement rate published. | Request programme-specific outcomes before using debt or a payback model. |
| School-level | Career and Vocation Outcomes, May 2022 | 80% employed in a position aligned with career goals. | Useful as institutional context only, not a course placement probability. |
| Course experience | 225 project and internship hours | Practicum and project work are required; placements vary by student and programme factors. | Ask how placement access, supervision and documentation work before choosing the non-thesis route. |
Source: St. Mary’s University programme and student-achievement pages.
For market context, the programme page cites US$108,373 (INR 1.04 Crore) as median annual earnings for Industrial/Organizational Psychologists, while the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a 2023 median annual wage of US$147,420 (INR 1.41 Crore) for the occupation.
| Evidence scope | Published measure | Annual amount | How to use it |
|---|---|---|---|
| External market benchmark cited by the university | Median annual earnings for Industrial/Organizational Psychologists; source year not stated | US$108,373 INR 1.04 Crore | Compare an actual offer with the cited benchmark, not with a promised graduate outcome. |
| External market benchmark | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2023 occupational data | US$147,420 INR 1.41 Crore | Use as broader occupation context because it is not a St. Mary’s or entry-level cohort result. |
Source: St. Mary’s University programme page and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics occupational wage data.
The programme lists past practicum organisations including Valero, Optech, CPS, PSI and USAA, but that employer presence proves access to examples rather than a hiring rate.
For an India-return plan, an actual offer, location and role scope are more useful than either benchmark. In the United States, STEM and OPT add optionality only after qualifying employment is secured.
Take-home pay varies with federal, state and local taxes, benefits and location, so use a current U.S. tax calculator after receiving an offer.
Outcome scope
The published evidence supports curriculum and work-window planning, not a typical graduate salary or placement probability, so ask for course-specific outcomes before accepting debt.
ROI reality: The programme offers applied hours and a STEM work window, but its public evidence does not prove a salary outcome. Verify target tuition, funding and actual employment data before borrowing.
USA Visa for St. Mary’s I/O Psychology Students 2027
Indian students need an F-1 (academic student) visa for this in-person degree after admission, financial verification and Form I-20 issuance.
The current visa application fee is US$185 (INR 17,688). The I-901 SEVIS (Student and Exchange Visitor Information System) fee is US$350 (INR 33,464). Together, the stated fees are US$535 (INR 51,152) before any nationality-specific issuance fee.
St. Mary’s identifies this STEM-designated degree as qualifying international students for three years of Optional Practical Training (OPT). Federal authorization and qualifying employment apply, so review the official United States student-visa requirements before filing.
- OPT allows temporary employment related to the major, and United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) requirements govern the initial period and any STEM extension.
- H-1B is an employer-sponsored specialty-occupation status with no single course-linked salary threshold because the required wage is the higher of actual or prevailing wage.
- F-2 status covers a spouse and unmarried minor children, but F-2 dependants are not authorized to work.
- Permanent residence has no fixed course-linked timeline, so treat post-study employment as a separate employer-sponsored or family-based immigration decision.
Read More: USA post-study work options
Visa reality: The STEM designation may support a three-year OPT window, but authorization depends on federal rules and qualifying employment. Budget the US$535 (INR 51,152) stated fees separately from tuition and living costs.
St. Mary’s University I/O Psychology Ranking 2027
The programme has a programme-specific ranking from the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology (SIOP).
The latest verified position comes from SIOP’s 2018 master’s-program study, not a 2027 outcome, so the figures provide curriculum context rather than current employment evidence.
| Ranking measure | Position | Edition and scope |
|---|---|---|
| Overall programme | 11th | 2018 SIOP master’s-program study |
| Applied experiences for students | 5th | 2018 SIOP master’s-program study |
| Curriculum | 15th | 2018 SIOP master’s-program study |
The ranking supports the programme’s applied and curriculum proposition, but it does not measure Fall 2027 tuition, admission probability or graduate salary.
Use the ranking as context alongside the required 225 project and internship hours, current fee verification and the absence of course-specific employment outcomes.
Check Out: St. Mary’s University I/O Psychology ranking context
Honest take: The 2018 programme ranking reinforces the applied curriculum story, but its age limits decision value for Fall 2027. Give greater weight to the current practicum model, target-cycle cost and verified outcomes.
St. Mary’s University’s Fall-only, in-person Master of Science in Industrial/Organizational Psychology fits applicants with psychology or business preparation, statistics readiness and interest in workplace decisions.
The 40-credit programme combines scientist-practitioner coursework with a 225-hour practicum, thesis or non-thesis route and STEM work authorization, supporting U.S. career or doctoral preparation.
The material tradeoff is financial uncertainty: Fall 2027 tuition and graduate funding are not published, while the prior-cycle two-year planning illustration reaches INR 94.49 Lakhs.
Start by verifying the expected 01 May 2027 priority deadline and target tuition, then submit the prerequisite, GRE or waiver, English and credential-evaluation file.
I/O Psychology FAQs
Ques. Does St. Mary’s University I/O Psychology require a psychology bachelor’s degree?
Ans. No, but applicants need a bachelor’s degree plus 12 prerequisite credits covering psychology, statistics, research methods and an upper-level psychology, business or management course. Indian applicants should map transcript subjects before ordering the course-by-course evaluation.
Ques. Can an applicant waive the GRE for this programme?
Ans. The published rule accepts a combined Graduate Record Examination (GRE) score of 294 or higher with verbal and quantitative subminimums, or a compelling waiver letter. The letter must show analytical, verbal and quantitative capability, so request written confirmation before omitting the score.
Ques. What should an Indian applicant budget for St. Mary’s I/O Psychology?
Ans. Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished, while the 2026-27 rate produces a calculated prior-cycle 40-credit tuition illustration of US$48,040 (INR 45.93 Lakhs). Tuition plus two years of official living categories produces a calculated prior-cycle planning illustration of US$98,828 (INR 94.49 Lakhs), excluding future changes and travel.
Ques. When should an Indian applicant apply for Fall 2027?
Ans. The programme admits one Fall cohort, with recurring catalogue dates of 01 May for priority review and 01 August as the final deadline. Because those dates are expected rather than named in a 2027 schedule, verify the portal cutoff and submit a complete file by the priority date.
Ques. Does the degree provide a reliable salary or post-study work outcome?
Ans. The university does not publish course-specific salary or placement outcomes. The degree requires 225 applied hours and carries a STEM designation that may support up to three years of OPT. Treat external wage figures as market context and verify an actual role, authorization and funding plan before borrowing.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | ₹2258076 (USD 23320) |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Living Expenses | ₹2312107 (USD 23878) |
| Health Insurance | ₹269962 (USD 2788) |
Per Credit Cost: $1,166
Important Dates
| Event | Application Date |
|---|---|
| Priority Application Deadline For Fall 2026 Intake | |
| Final Application Deadline For Fall 2025 Intake | |
Scores Required
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Course Guides
Best MS Courses in USA for International Students in 2025
Masters (MS) in USA: Colleges, Courses, Deadlines, Eligibility & Fees
Masters in Psychology in USA: Deadlines, Eligibility, Fees & Job Opportunities
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TEC Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 96,830/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| BeArt Presets-Academic Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 2.4 L/Yr$2,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Chuan Ai Lu Engstrom Memorial Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 96,830/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Bharat Petroleum Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Comindware Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 3.9 L/Yr$4,000 | Level Of StudyApprenticeship | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific |



.jpeg?h=90&w=90&mode=stretch)











Comments