M.B.A Finance at University Of Southern Maine [USM], Portland Fees, Entry Requirement & Application Deadline

M.B.A from University of Southern Maine

Portland, MaineLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1878established year
7794enrollment
Public
7.0/10

Master of Business Administration [M.B.A] (Finance)

2 years
Full Time
On Campus

Field of Study: 

₹39.2 L/Yr

$40,500 /Yr
Study Abroad Team's profile photo

Study Abroad Team

Updated on - Aug 17, 2026

University of Southern Maine Master of Business Administration in Finance is a 33-credit professional degree delivered online through the MaineMBA collaboration in Maine. The published base duration is 20 months, while the Finance concentration duration is not separately stated. Fall 2026 Finance tuition is unpublished as one total. The university publishes US$780 (INR 74,446) per credit and a 30-credit base total of US$23,400 (INR 22.33 Lakhs), not a confirmed Finance total.

The curriculum combines eight MBA core courses with three Finance electives covering capital budgeting, cash flow analysis, banking systems, and investment management. It suits applicants with accounting, economics, finance, and statistics preparation who want finance depth without leaving employment. The online format supports study from India, but it does not provide a U.S. campus or post-study visa route.

  • Six annual online entry points give working applicants more than one start option.
  • Self-paced foundation courses can address missing accounting, economics, finance, or statistics preparation.
  • The core includes strategic data analysis and financial statement analysis before the Finance electives.

Current Admission Status

Applications for the Fall 2026 intake are Open. International student deadline: Rolling year-round for the online mode.

Indian applicants can apply from outside the United States without an F-1 or J-1 visa. Submit a complete file for the selected entry point because the online route uses rolling review.

Also Check: University of Southern Maine MBA admission requirements

USM MBA Finance Fees and Living Costs 2026

The Fall 2026 Finance tuition total is unpublished because the university says concentration credit rates can vary by department. Verify the target fee on the official MBA funding page.

2026-27 fee context: The university publishes US$780 (INR 74,446) per credit hour, with all fees included for the 30-credit General Management base. Its current page applies that rate to Maine Business School core classes and its electives, but it does not state one Finance concentration total.

Fee itemBasisAmount (USD)Amount (INR)
Graduate business rate2026-27 per credit hour; all fees includedUS$780INR 74,446
General Management base tuition30 credits × US$780; official base programmeUS$23,400INR 22.33 Lakhs
Finance concentration planning illustration33 credits × US$780; calculated, not confirmed as the Finance totalUS$25,740INR 24.57 Lakhs
Graduate application feeInternational degree applicationUS$65INR 6,204

All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 95.4438 as of 17 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.

Source: 2026-27 University of Maine graduate business funding page and graduate application checklist.

The calculated Finance illustration assumes all three concentration electives remain at the published business-school rate. Because the official page allows department variation, request the written concentration quote before borrowing.

  • The US$780 (INR 74,446) rate is the confirmed planning input, while US$25,740 (INR 24.57 Lakhs) is not a published Finance total.
  • The US$65 (INR 6,204) application fee is separate from tuition and should be included in the initial cash requirement.
  • Use the full Finance quote rather than the 30-credit General Management total when comparing offers or calculating loan needs.

Cost of Living in Portland for MBA Finance Students

The official online MBA planning table gives a U.S.-based reference for housing and food, books, and travel costs. Indian online students should treat these figures as a comparison baseline rather than a required Portland residence budget.

Official 2026-27 reference: The monthly values below divide the cached annual non-tuition estimate by 12, so the university’s combined categories remain intact.

ExpenseMonthly (USD)Monthly (INR)Annual (USD)Annual (INR)
Housing and foodUS$1,181.17INR 1.13 LakhsUS$14,174INR 13.53 Lakhs
Books, materials, supplies, and equipmentUS$50.00INR 4,772US$600INR 57,266
Travel and miscellaneousUS$383.33INR 36,587US$4,600INR 4.39 Lakhs
Official non-tuition totalUS$1,614.50INR 1.54 LakhsUS$19,374INR 18.49 Lakhs

The INR 18.49 Lakhs annual non-tuition reference includes combined housing and food, books, and travel or miscellaneous costs. It does not establish the personal cost of studying online from India.

A calculated one-year planning illustration is US$45,179 (INR 43.12 Lakhs). This uses US$25,740 (INR 24.57 Lakhs) tuition, US$65 (INR 6,204) application fee, and US$19,374 (INR 18.49 Lakhs) non-tuition reference costs.

Online budget note

Use the US$45,179 (INR 43.12 Lakhs) figure only as a calculated comparison baseline. Replace the Finance tuition illustration with the university’s written quote and add your actual India-based study costs.

Also Check: USA cost of living for international students

Key insight: The business-school rate is clear, but Finance tuition is not a confirmed flat total. Obtain the 33-credit quote before setting a loan or savings target.

USM MBA Finance Admission 2026

The online Finance MBA requires an accredited bachelor’s degree and a cumulative GPA of 3.0 on 4.0. For Indian applicants, this is approximately 75% to 80% or CGPA 7.5 to 8.0. GMAT 500 is the minimum, GMAT 550 is preferred, and qualified applicants may request a waiver.

Finance applicants should show accounting, economics, finance, and statistics preparation because missing subjects can trigger foundation work. The online checklist does not list professional experience as mandatory, while the separate low-residency route prefers two years after the bachelor’s degree.

Academic Eligibility for the Finance MBA

The published academic floor is GPA 3.0 on 4.0, but the preferred GPA is 3.5 on 4.0. The approximate Indian planning ranges below do not replace the university’s final equivalency decision.

The Finance concentration adds subject preparation to the graduate application. Upload a transcript that clearly identifies finance and quantitative coursework, then ask whether any missing area requires a self-paced foundation module.

RequirementPublished standardIndian applicant reading
Bachelor’s degreeDegree from an accredited universityThree-year degrees are considered case by case.
Cumulative GPA3.0 on a 4.0 scaleApproximately 75% to 80%, or CGPA 7.5 to 8.0 on 10.
Preferred GPA3.5 on a 4.0 scaleApproximately 85% to 90%, or CGPA 8.5 to 9.0 on 10.
GMAT500 minimum; 550 preferred; waiver availableSubmit the current score or a documented waiver request.
Finance preparationFinance, accounting, economics, and statistics are reviewedMark these subjects clearly on the transcript.
Credential reviewWES or ECE certified translation when records are non-English or use a non-4.0 scaleArrange the correct evaluation before submission.

The programme page cites U.S. News & World Report placing the Maine Business School among the top 200 business schools nationally. This is not a Finance programme ranking.

GMAT means Graduate Management Admission Test. The university also accepts GRE, LSAT, MCAT, or PCAT evidence, or a qualifying waiver, so select the route you can document most clearly.

WES means World Education Services, while ECE means Educational Credential Evaluators. The current international instructions name these services for certified transcript translation when the record is not in English or uses a scale other than 4.0.

English Language Proficiency for Indian Applicants

International applicants need English test evidence unless they completed a bachelor’s or master’s degree in the United States or Canada, excluding Quebec. The university states that there are no other exemptions or waivers.

IELTS means International English Language Testing System. TOEFL means Test of English as a Foreign Language. The current page displays the policy as Minimum Score: 82 (4.5] without explaining a conversion between the two displayed scales.

Use the published score display exactly: PTE Academic is listed at 65 and the Duolingo English Test is listed at 115. PTE Academic Online scores have been suspended since 28 August 2023.

Test or routeMinimum or ruleIndian applicant action
IELTS6.5 overallSend the official score report.
TOEFLMinimum Score: 82 (4.5] as displayed by the universityVerify the score format before booking.
PTE Academic65Use an accepted non-online score report.
Duolingo English Test115Confirm the route remains accepted for the MBA.
English-degree routeDegree from the United States or Canada, excluding QuebecProvide the degree evidence used for the exemption.
  • Book IELTS or TOEFL only after matching the score format to the current MBA and Graduate School pages.
  • Use PTE Academic only in an accepted format because the university has suspended PTE Academic Online scores.
  • Prepare English-degree proof only when the degree was completed in the United States or Canada outside Quebec.

The online MBA admissions checklist confirms the current degree, test, recommendation, writing, transcript, and resume requirements. Applicants with missing Finance prerequisites should ask how foundation work affects registration and the first entry point.

Tip for Indian students: A 3.0 GPA and GMAT 500 meet the published minimums. A stronger file shows the 3.5 preferred GPA, quantitative subjects, and a clear English-test route.

USM MBA Finance Application 2026

Online applications for the Fall 2026 intake are open, and the programme uses rolling admission with six entry points each year. The university does not publish a fixed international cutoff, decision date, or portal timezone for this online route.

Rolling review makes file completeness more important than waiting for a single round. Choose the entry point that matches your transcript evaluation, English score, recommendations, and Finance preparation.

Forward-looking timing: The current online route remains open year-round, so apply when the complete file is ready for the selected entry point.

Application stagePublished timing or statusApplicant action
Choose an entry pointSix online entry points each year; rolling year-roundSelect Fall 2026 or the next available online term.
Submit the applicationNo fixed international cutoff published for online studySubmit a complete file through the graduate portal.
Application reviewRolling review after submissionMonitor the portal for missing-document requests.
Admission decisionNo fixed online decision date publishedTrack the dashboard and respond to the offer instructions.

Documents for the Finance MBA Application

The online application requires the career-goal writing sample, resume or curriculum vitae, three professional recommendations, and academic records. Submit the GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, or PCAT score report, or attach the qualifying waiver request.

International applicants should also provide English proficiency evidence unless the stated United States or Canada degree exemption applies. Arrange certified transcript translation through WES or ECE when the record is non-English or uses a scale other than 4.0.

ComponentPublished instructionFinance applicant action
Online applicationComplete the graduate application portalSelect the MaineMBA online route and intended entry point.
Writing sampleCareer goals and aspirations; no longer than 500 wordsConnect Finance preparation with a specific role or sector.
RecommendationsContact information for three professional recommendationsChoose referees who can verify analysis, leadership, or finance work.
Academic recordsTranscripts of all previous college or university workIdentify finance, accounting, economics, and statistics subjects.
Resume or CVCurrent professional historyShow quantitative tasks, progression, and relevant responsibilities.
Standardized evidenceGMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, PCAT, or qualifying waiverUpload official evidence with the application materials.
English proficiencyRequired unless the MBA exemption appliesSend the accepted test report in the published format.
  • Start transcript evaluation before submission when your Indian records are non-English or use a non-4.0 scale.
  • Use the 500-word writing sample to explain how Finance electives support a defined career direction.
  • Submit the score or waiver evidence with the academic file so rolling review does not pause for a missing test document.

Application strategy: The Finance concentration should appear as a reasoned choice rather than a generic MBA preference. Name your quantitative preparation, preferred finance area, and reason online study fits your present work or location.

Application tip: Rolling admission removes a single international round deadline, but it does not remove document risk. Submit a complete file for the entry point you can support with verified records.

USM MBA Finance Scholarships 2026

Funding is available, but no target-cycle Finance award amount is published for Indian online applicants. The business school lists multiple small scholarships for full-time and part-time MaineMBA students, subject to selection and eligibility checks.

Current published pool dates: Fall applications are listed for 1 September, Spring for 15 January, and Summer for 1 May. These dates are not labelled as Finance-specific award deadlines, so confirm the route after activating your university account.

Award or fundValue or coveragePublished applicant profileRoute or selection
Alfond Ambassador ScholarshipFinancial support and leadership development; amount not publishedGraduate students in business, law, policy, engineering, or computing committed to Maine’s economySelection considers academic excellence, leadership, and economic impact plans
Bonello Family Scholarship FundScholarship aid; amount not publishedUndergraduate and graduate students at the Maine Business SchoolGraduate School of Business and financial-aid selection
George V. Nauman Scholarship FundScholarship assistance for financial need; amount not publishedWorthy graduate or undergraduate students in applied economics or business administrationGraduate School of Business selection with financial-aid consultation
Guvenc G. Alpander FundScholarship, stipend, or books; amount not publishedStudents in the Master’s of Business Administration programmeGraduate School of Business discretion
John M. Webber School of Business ScholarshipFinancial assistance; amount not publishedGraduate business students, with preference for international business or financeGraduate School of Business selection

The scholarship pool requires an activated maine.edu email address for the Scholarship Universe portal. Selected students may receive no more than one award from this pool in an academic year.

The John M. Webber fund is the closest published fit for Finance because the page states a preference for international business or finance. Its amount and international online eligibility remain unconfirmed, so do not subtract it from the tuition illustration.

  • Apply through the university portal by the Fall 1 September pool date, then confirm whether the award can support an international online student.
  • Use the Finance preference in the Webber fund application to connect your concentration with a specific career objective.
  • Keep the full Finance tuition illustration as your base case because every listed award has an unpublished amount or selection condition.

Funding strategy: A scholarship application can reduce the cash requirement, but it cannot resolve the unpublished concentration rate. Request the Finance quote and verify award eligibility before accepting an offer.

Read More: Scholarships for Indian students in the USA

Scholarship verification note

After admission, activate the maine.edu account and ask whether the Finance concentration, online mode, and international status satisfy each fund’s current eligibility conditions.

Scholarship reality: The published funds create possible support, not a confirmed discount. Budget at the full Finance rate and treat any award as an offset only after its amount and conditions arrive in writing.

USM MBA Finance Salary 2026

No Finance-specific salary, offer-rate, or placement report is published in the checked official sources. The closest evidence is MaineMBA-level reporting, followed by a U.S. occupation benchmark that is not a graduate outcome.

Outcome scope: The programme page reports employment above 90% six months after graduation. It also reports average early-career salaries of US$80,000 (INR 76.36 Lakhs) to US$120,000 (INR 1.15 Crore). The page does not identify a Finance cohort, reporting year, or placement method.

Evidence scopePublished measureFigureApplicant reading
MaineMBA programme level; cohort not statedEmployment rate six months after graduationHigher than 90%Not a Finance concentration placement rate.
MaineMBA graduate reporting; cohort not statedGraduates reporting a promotion within four months81%Reported promotion is not an offer rate.
MaineMBA graduate reporting; cohort not statedGraduates reporting an average salary increase within four months20%No increase amount or Finance split is published.
MaineMBA student profile; cohort not statedStudents working full time while earning the degree85%This supports a working-professional format, not a placement forecast.

The 81% promotion and 20% salary-increase figures describe reported respondents, not Finance graduates. Use them as programme-level context and request the underlying cohort definition before using them in a career forecast.

Salary Evidence and ROI for MBA Finance

The university-cited early-career salary range is US$80,000 (INR 76.36 Lakhs) to US$120,000 (INR 1.15 Crore). It is a current MaineMBA-level figure, not a published Finance graduate salary.

The external benchmark comes from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics financial analysts profile. It reports a May 2024 median for financial and investment analysts, which measures the occupation rather than this degree.

Evidence scopeSalary measureAmount (USD)Amount (INR)Use in planning
MaineMBA programme level; cohort not statedAverage early-career salary rangeUS$80,000 to US$120,000INR 76.36 Lakhs to INR 1.15 CroreDirectional programme evidence; not a Finance result.
External market benchmark; May 2024Financial and investment analysts median wageUS$101,350INR 96.73 LakhsOccupation-wide benchmark; not a graduate salary.
External market benchmark; May 2024Securities, commodity contracts, and investments industry medianUS$124,050INR 1.18 CroreIndustry benchmark; not an offer or placement outcome.

Source: University of Maine MaineMBA programme pages and U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2024 wage data.

ROI for Indian Applicants

ROI means return on investment. The financial case depends on the confirmed Finance rate, your work location, and the gap between the programme-level evidence and your target role.

  • The calculated 33-credit tuition illustration is US$25,740 (INR 24.57 Lakhs), so obtain the written Finance rate before borrowing.
  • The university reports employment above 90%, but its cohort and method are unstated, so request the definition before treating it as a Finance outcome.
  • The US$80,000 (INR 76.36 Lakhs) to US$120,000 (INR 1.15 Crore) range is programme-level, so model the role and geography you can actually access.
  • The US$101,350 (INR 96.73 Lakhs) median is an external occupation benchmark, so use it to calibrate a target role rather than promise repayment.
  • The online route has no F-1 or J-1 sponsorship, so exclude United States post-study earnings and model India-based work or another lawful route.

Gross salary is not take-home pay because tax, location, insurance, benefits, and bonuses affect net income. Use a current tax calculator for the destination before comparing net pay with tuition.

The Finance concentration’s focus on banking, insurance, and investment analysis can support a career pivot when your prior preparation matches those roles. It does not supply a U.S. employment route or a course-specific salary guarantee.

ROI reality: The course offers Finance depth at a flexible online rate, but the concentration total and Finance outcomes are unpublished. Secure both inputs and model the country where you can legally work.

USA Visa for USM MBA Finance Students 2026

Indian applicants studying this online Finance MBA from outside the United States do not receive a course-linked student visa. The current policy ends new F-1 or J-1 support from Spring 2026, while international students remain welcome to study online from abroad.

  • F-1 is the United States Student visa category, and J-1 is the Exchange Visitor category; neither is supported for this online route.
  • Optional Practical Training (OPT) is post-study work authorization linked to qualifying F-1 study, so no OPT period attaches to this MBA.
  • No student visa application fee, Student and Exchange Visitor Information System fee, or visa-linked health requirement should be added to the online-from-India budget.
  • No course-linked skilled-worker salary threshold, permanent-residence timeline, or dependant rule applies because the programme does not provide student-visa sponsorship.

Read More: USA student visa requirements

Visa reality: This MBA is an online qualification for applicants who can study without U.S. immigration status. Choose it only when your career plan does not depend on campus study or U.S. post-study work.

USM MBA Finance fits an Indian applicant who wants a flexible online business degree with quantitative Finance electives and plans to study without U.S. immigration status. The eight core courses establish managerial breadth, while the three Finance electives connect capital budgeting, banking, and investment analysis to the intended career direction. The material tradeoff is that Finance tuition and Finance cohort outcomes are unpublished, so the course cannot be priced from a guaranteed salary or award. Before applying, obtain the written 33-credit rate, prepare the GPA, test, recommendation, and prerequisite evidence, and submit a complete file for the chosen rolling entry point.

USM MBA Finance FAQs

Ques. Is the USM MBA Finance suitable for an Indian applicant who wants U.S. work?

Ans. It suits an applicant seeking online Finance study from India without U.S. immigration status. The programme does not support new F-1 or J-1 visas, so it does not provide OPT or a campus employment route.

Ques. What GPA, GMAT, and English scores should an Indian applicant present?

Ans. The minimum is GPA 3.0 on 4.0, approximately 75% to 80% or CGPA 7.5 to 8.0, with GMAT 500 or a qualifying waiver. The preferred GPA is 3.5 and GMAT 550. English routes include IELTS 6.5, TOEFL Minimum Score: 82 (4.5], PTE 65, or Duolingo 115.

Ques. What is the confirmed tuition and budget for the USM MBA Finance?

Ans. The university publishes US$780 (INR 74,446) per business credit and US$65 (INR 6,204) for the graduate application. A calculated 33-credit illustration is US$25,740 (INR 24.57 Lakhs), but the Finance total remains unpublished and needs written confirmation.

Ques. How does Fall 2026 rolling admission work for this online MBA?

Ans. Fall 2026 applications are open, and the online route has six entry points with rolling year-round admission. No fixed international cutoff or decision date is published, so submit a complete file for the entry point you select.

Ques. Can scholarships and salary evidence make the Finance MBA financially reasonable?

Ans. Named funds exist, but award amounts and online international eligibility are not confirmed. MaineMBA salary and employment figures are programme-level, while the US$101,350 (INR 96.73 Lakhs) financial-analyst median is an external benchmark. Model the written Finance rate against the work location you can legally access.


Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
Tuition Fees₹3921615 (USD 40500)

Other Expenses

HeadAvg Cost Per Year
Compulsory Fees₹255631 (USD 2640)
Total Cost₹255631 (USD 2640)

Previous Year Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
2023₹3921615 (USD 40500)
2022₹3631125 (USD 37500)

Scores Required

6.5 / 9

Avg. Score in

IELTS

79 / 120

Avg. Score in

TOEFL

500 / 800

Avg. Score in

GMAT

3 / 4

Minimum gpa

GPA

  • Student can calculate the minimum GPA requirement with: (The formula is: [GPA x 200] + GMAT total score> 1100)
  • Students should have a minimum GMAT score of 500.


Comments


No Comments To Show

Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids

NameScholarship Per StudentLevel of StudyType
BeArt Presets-Academic ScholarshipScholarship per student₹ 2.4 L/Yr$2,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Chuan Ai Lu Engstrom Memorial ScholarshipScholarship per student₹ 96,830/Yr$1,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Bharat Petroleum ScholarshipScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyMasterTypeMerit-Based
Comindware ScholarshipScholarship per student₹ 3.9 L/Yr$4,000Level Of StudyApprenticeshipTypeMerit-Based
Forktip Women’s- Innovation ScholarshipScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyBachelorTypeCollege-Specific
FINCAD Women in Finance ScholarshipScholarship per student₹ 19.4 L/Yr$20,000Level Of StudyMasterTypeMerit-Based

Similar Programs

ProgramImportant DateTotal FeesMedian Exams ScoreAction
--
INR 20.5 L/Yr
USD 21,150 /Yr
  • IELTS: 6.0
  • TOEFL: 72
  • PTE: 68
  • Duolingo: 110
--
INR 18.7 L/Yr
USD 19,340 /Yr
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • TOEFL: 76
  • Duolingo: 110
--
INR 11.9 L/Yr
USD 12,243 /Yr
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • Duolingo: 110
  • TOEFL: 79
--
INR 18.7 L/Yr
USD 19,300 /Yr
  • TOEFL: 79
  • IELTS: 6
  • PTE: 58
  • GMAT: 540
--
INR 12.7 L/Yr
USD 13,127 /Yr
  • IELTS: 6.0
  • TOEFL: 79
  • PTE: 53
  • GMAT: 530
  • GRE: 306

Do you think the Dates are wrong ?  Report Here

Videos

interested in this College ?

Get free counselling